BSS User's Group
Connecting cobranet

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    BSS Audio User Groups Forum Index -> Soundweb London
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dpostilink



Joined: 23 Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 12:21 pm    Post subject: Connecting cobranet Reply with quote

Just a few quick newbie questions:

When slaving a BLU-32 to a BLU-80, which cobranet jacks should be used on each device--primary or secondary?

In the absence of a crossover ethernet cable, will an ethernet bridge (Linksys WET-200) facilitate a cobranet connection between a blu-80 and blu-32? Are there any additional steps other than plugging both devices into one of the free ports on the ethernet bridge unit?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dan Lynch
Captain Obvious


Joined: 10 Jan 2007
Posts: 450
Location: Charleston, SC

PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can use both primary or both secondary. It makes no difference. Actually, now that I think about it, you can use any combination of primary and secondary that you like as long as you only use one port per device.

The WET200 probably won't work, but you can give it a try. It will most likely fall over dead as soon as it gets hit with a CobraNet bundle. Not permanently dead, just sobbing in the corner in a fetal ball until you remove the CobraNet and reset it.

"Additional steps" would include programming the devices and assigning the CobraNet bundle(s).

Dan
_________________
I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dpostilink



Joined: 23 Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 4:21 pm    Post subject: re: assigning a cobranet bundle Reply with quote

I really want to be able to use these devices, but sadly there seem to be glaring holes in my knowledge of how they operate.

I don't know how to assign a cobranet bundle. Can you help with this? I would be happy to follow any instructional documents if they're available. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kevin Brown
Site Admin


Joined: 09 Apr 2010
Posts: 36
Location: Salt Lake City, UT

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You might consider attending one of our introductory ("Level 1") courses. We host them once a month at the factory in Salt Lake City, the course is free, and we'll even pay for your hotel, food, and transportation while you're here. For classes that happen in Salt Lake City, the only thing you need to pay for is getting yourself to the hotel from wherever you live (and back).

We also host them in varying cities around the US.

Level 1 and Level 2 are now globally standardized courses, so you can even find them in different cities around Planet Earth.

Check out our training website to find a live class:
http://www.bssaudio.com/training/live_training

-Kevin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dpostilink



Joined: 23 Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kevin,

I just spoke to Will at tech support and he very helpfully explained the concept of cobranet and also how to get all my devices recognized on the same network. Thanks for referring me to the training sessions anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    BSS Audio User Groups Forum Index -> Soundweb London All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group